-

2003-03-04 @ 11:09 a.m.

Last night i joined the ranks of all the cool kids, all the wanderers, all the thinkers outside the boxers. No i didnt drop acid - or run away and write poetry about some obscure tree in new mexico. I watched Vanilla Sky. Yeah i know i am a little late. But I am slow and lazy, and from what i've heard - that movie takes some effort to watch.

Ok - so am i supposed to be changed now, or asking - in pain - what does it all mean! Becuase i feel nothing but confused. Don't get me wrong. I kind of liked it

but i got nothing out of it.

when it ended i sat there and said outloud "oh." and got up and turned off the t.v.

there are a few reason why this movie did not exactly do it for me. I will start with the dumbest one first.

1. that fucking mask freaked me out man. I liked him better with him deformed face, because afterall - he was still one sexy victim of disfigurement. With the mask on all i was reminded of was a Jim Carrey movie that annoyed me. And plus it was creepy.

2. Penelope Cruz is to confusingly beautiful. I watch this movie with Josh - (he loved it - probably because the sight of her stroked his 2 hour erection) and at first - i was like "whatever she's not that pretty - she is weird looking - like a bird." but the more i watched it - the paler i felt. Her hair is so black. Her nose and mouth are so...not like mine, and her eyes are like coals. She is the type of girl that grows on you, until noone is the same by comparison. and that is who everyone wants to be isn't it? But here i am - sitting next to my boyfriend - a shimmering pile of invisible. But i mean it was no big deal. I just want to be her. Cool accent. Nice boobs. eh - so that was lightly annoying. (she even managed to make cameron diaz - who i normally think is beautiful - resemble a deranged big bird. latin bitch)

3. Sometimes, i think, even when it is a good movie, it shouldn't be so hard to enjoy. yes though provoking is good, weird is great, wondering is nice, and these are things i do like, but it felt contrived to me. MAybe i am too judgmental. or maybe i need things to be too cut and dry. But i felt like screaming - ok lets get realistic people - ha!

Its just a movie Jamie. But whatever happened to movies made circa 82-88 - movies like Say Anything and Pretty in Pink and the breaksfast club. They required no thought, they were pure viewing pleasure. and there was always a great soundtrack.

Ok i'll give the whole soundtrack thing to vanilla sky. I beleive i heard radiohead, and REM among others and they did show and mention bjork

Which is my point - they had an audience they were targeting. All the intellects, with glasses, and tight shirts that say "you are in omaha" - and it was blatantly obvious.

I hate that

(name a movie as good as those 80's movies - MADE IN THE LAST 10 YEARS)

| Stereo>

Home | Older | Rings | Tests | G-Book | Bio | Profile | Notes | Design | Host